Eventide Arts New Playwrights, New Play Competition Deadline Approaching on May 1st

by web editor on April 25, 2013

The deadline for the 2013-2014 Competition Season is approaching. Works in progress must be submitted May 1, 2013, in order to be considered as a participating play. Writers have till January 1, 2014 to complete their work. Please see information below.

Congratulations to James Dalglish and Lynda Sturner the 6th Annual New Playwrights, New Plays Competition winners with their play ‘A TalentedWoman’ which was stage read on the historic Gertrude Lawrence stage in Dennis, MA, on March 22 and March 23, 2013.

The New Playwrights, New Plays Competition encourages and stimulates the writing and production of new full-length plays by Cape and Island writers. The Competition is sponsored by Eventide Arts, a Cape Cod non-profit organization devoted to producing stimulating theatre for the purpose of inspiring thought and debate, and showcasing the work of local artists.

The Competition is open to full-length plays written by both new and experienced playwrights who live on Cape Cod, Martha’s Vineyard or Nantucket. One play will be selected by the judges and presented as a staged reading on the historic Gertrude Lawrence stage as part of Eventide Arts’ 2013-2014 Season of plays, concerts and workshops. The winning Competition entry will be awarded the $1,000 Kaplan Foundation Prize.

The New Playwrights, New Plays Competitions made possible in part by the generous support from the following: THE JEREMIAH KAPLAN FOUNDATION and THE ARTS FOUNDATION OF CAPE COD

The 2012/2013 short list of finalists were:

Good Friday                           Rick Leidenfrost-Wilson

Harriman-Baines                  Colin Crowley

Sit on my Facebook               Steve Martin

The Final Say                          Meryl Cohn


The 2007 winner ~ Meridian Summer, by Candace Perry

The 2008 winner ~ Sequel, by David Kucher

The 2009 winner ~ Eucatastrophe, by Andy Reynolds

The 2010 winner ~ This Verse Business by A.M. Dolan

The 2011 winner ~ To Be in the Game by Tom Gotsill

The 2013 winner ~ A Talented Woman by Lynda Sturner and Jim Dalglish

For more information go to http://www.eventidearts.org/kaplan.html or email JMLoring at jmljake@capecod.net

Previous post:

Next post: